Life on the most remote inhabited island in the world

Tristan stories

I am always surprised when I see the number of people who read this blog and would like to invite you to write and let us know what your particular fascination is with Tristan da Cunha.

I have had the opportunity to speak with many people who have always wanted to visit the island and have a million questions about a variety of things, from the currency used on the island, to whether we have 24 hour electricity. 

If you have any questions about Tristan, or would like to share a Tristan story, please do so – we’d love to hear from you!

Comments on: "Tristan stories" (6)

  1. Hi Erik and Claire,

    The appeal of Tristan Da Cunha has always been its remoteness. In reading many books about its history, it’s always been fascinating to follow the lives of those that chose to stay there. Some us of put ourselves in their shoes, and say “Why not?”. Simplicity has something to do with it, I guess. Lives are complex; Tristan appears to be the antidote, although ultimately, we know that’s not true and that Tristan is not Utopia, probably far from it.

    I’m wondering about living in the “Roaring 40s”. Is wind constant or do you have calm days? Do you always hear the roar of the ocean where you live?

    Pete
    Colorado, USA

  2. Priscilla said:

    Hello Claire and Erik,
    The attraction to your blog site is to keep up with your activities, I must say you seem to have a lot of excitement, what with events on the Agullus etc. And have been missing the Tristan Tribune – when is the next email edition?
    P

  3. Hi Erik and Claire,

    Like Pete, I think that much of the fascination in your blog comes with the remoteness of the island. What do people do there? What’s it like? Most importantly, how do you generate electricity? It’s driving me nuts, as I can’t find any source on power plants!

  4. Hi Erik and Claire,

    It’s fascinating to hear from humanity’s most remote outpost and to learn of the way all of you maintain such a superior societal fabric.

    Like all of us who follow things on Tristan, I hope to visit your fabulous island some day.

    Take care and thank you for sharing a bit of yourselves.

    Mark
    Charlotte, NC USA

  5. Hi,

    Its so interesting to see what I would call a modern day take on the island. My father was born there in 1945. In 1948, My family sailed back to South Africa. Its been told they had to wait for the tide to rise so they could throw him on Board the ship from the row boat, as my Grandparents where unable to climb aboard holding him. In my attempt to see if I can obtain a British passport by descent, Ive been ding a bit of research _ ie trying to get hold his birth certificate if one was even issued. If I may be so bold as to ask if you may be able to point me in the right direction? Other than that I am going to be following your blog. I hope one day to see the island myself… Put images to the stories Ive been told. Another is My Grandfather served as a Meteorologist under the RAF, one story, is that he painted one of his weather balloons with the face of the Jacko Lantern and let it fly over the island on the evening of Haloween, Its been said the islanders didn’t emerge from their homes for days after. 🙂 Thank you for sharing your photos and stories.

    • Hi Jessica
      Good to hear from you.
      Perhaps you could write to me privately and let me know what your dad’s name is, and when he was born, and we can pass it on to the Administrator’s office?
      They would have issued a birth certificate, I am sure, and it is fascinating to look through the birth records of all the people.
      I’m not certain if they have records which go all the way back to the 1940′s, although it wouldn’t surprise me.
      Tristan is an amazing place is so many ways but the thing that really makes it special is the people.
      All the best
      Claire

Leave a Reply

